The province of British Columbia, on the west coast of Canada, comprises six tourism regions; Vancouver, Coast & Mountains, which includes Whistler; Vancouver Island, which includes the BC Gulf and Discovery Islands; the Thompson Okanagan; Northern BC; Cariboo Chilcotin Coast; and the Kootenay Rockies. Vancouver is the largest city, but the capital of British Columbia is Victoria, on the southern tip of Vancouver Island. The Gulf Islands are unique and laid back, the Okanagan Valley is sunny, with wonderful vineyards and wineries, the BC Rockies and Kootenays are a feast of awesome scenery and parks, the Coast boasts the Great Bear Rainforest, the Cariboo and Chilcotin area is cowboy country, Northern BC is larger than California, and Haida Gwaii is arguably one of the most beautiful and diverse landscapes in the world.

The rear of the BC Government Legislative Building in Victoria, Vancouver Island British Columbia
Fountain at the rear of the BC Government Legislature in Victoria, the capital of British Columbia.

Quick Links: Victoria | Tofino | Vancouver | Whistler

Vancouver Island & BC Islands

The Islands region, incorporating Vancouver Island and the BC Gulf and Discovery Islands offer magnificent mountains, rain forests, remote beaches, and secluded bays. Vancouver Island is the jewel of the Pacific Northwest – Victoria, Nanaimo, Parksville, Tofino, Campbell River – matched only by vibrant communities on the magical Gulf and Discovery Islands; Saltspring, Quadra, Cortes, Saturna, Mayne, Denman, Hornby, and Gabriola.

Vancouver, Coast & Mountains

Backdropped by the North Shore and Coast Mountains, Vancouver is a fabulous city to explore. Sea to Sky Country offers quiet hikes and deep forests, and Squamish, Pemberton, Lillooet, and world-famous Whistler. Then there’s the Fraser Valley; Hope, Chilliwack, Abbotsford, Langley, Surrey, White Rock, Burnaby and Richmond.

Thompson Okanagan

Tucked away in Central British Columbia, the Thompson Okanagan and Okanagan Valley are beautiful and pristine places, with dozens of parks surrounding Okanagan Lake. Includes Kamloops, Clearwater, Valemount, Sun Peaks, Sicamous, Salmon Arm, Shuswap Lake, Nicola Valley, Coquihalla, Vernon, Kelowna, Penticton, and Osoyoos.

Kootenay Rockies

The BC Rockies and Kootenays region of British Columbia is a feast of awesome scenery, national parks, and snow-capped Purcell, Selkirk, Monashee and Rocky mountains. Visit Ainsworth Hot Springs, Castlegar, Kaslo, Nakusp, Nelson, Revelstoke, Columbia River Valley, Fairmont, Radium, Invermere, Cranbrook, Kimberley, and Elk Valley.

Cariboo, Chilcotin, Coast

Gold prospectors have been replaced by visitors to the Cariboo and Chilcotin region seeking guest ranches and pristine lakes, rivers and streams. Visit Clinton, 100 Mile House, Lac La Hache, Williams Lake, Quesnel, Wells, Barkerville, Anahim and Nimpo Lake, Bella Coola, Bella Bella, Discovery Coast, Princess Royal Island, and Great Bear Rainforest.

Northern BC & Haida Gwaii

Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) and the vast wilderness of North BC are unspoiled masterpieces of nature. Includes Prince George, Fort Nelson, Fort St. John, Alaska Highway, Vanderhoof, Fort St. James, Burns Lake, Terrace, Kitimat, Bulkley and Skeena Valleys, Prince Rupert, Graham, Moresby and Langara Islands, Masset, Sandspit, and Skidegate.

Alberta, Alaska and Washington

British Columbia is bordered to the west by the Pacific Ocean, and to the north by the US state of Alaska and Canada’s Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories. The beautiful Canadian Rocky Mountains form BC’s eastern border with neighbouring Alberta, and bordering B.C to the south are the US states of Washington, Idaho and Montana.